Chapman FFA Earns Triple Crown Award for Sixth Straight Year

kansasffa89th Kansas FFA Convention, By Convention, National Chapter, North Central

The Chapman FFA chapter received the prestigious Triple Crown award for the sixth year in a row at the final session of the 89th Kansas FFA Convention, May 31–June 2, 2017, on the Kansas State University campus.

The Triple Crown award is given to the FFA chapter that performs the best in the National Chapter Award program, which recognizes chapters that actively implement the mission and strategies of the organization in three separate divisions: Building Communities, Growing Leaders and Strengthening Agriculture. Awards are given in each of these three areas in the divisions of bronze, silver and gold. Chapters in the gold division qualify as finalists for the Triple Crown.

Under guidance from advisors Johanna Ryckert and Alex Jost, the Chapman FFA chapter earned the highest score in the three categories. The chapter will receive $300 and the Garlow Memorial Trophy, which is sponsored by the Bill Garlow Family in memory of past Kansas FFA officer Bob Garlow.

Top 18 rankings were as follows:

18. Clay Center FFA

17. Inman FFA

16. Jackson Heights FFA

15. Mission Valley FFA

14. Girard FFA

13. Hugoton FFA

12. Ellsworth

11. Marysville

10. Hays FFA

9. Goessel FFA

8. Hiawatha FFA

7. Royal Valley FFA

6. Southwestern Heights FFA

5. Holton FFA

4. Udall FFA

3. Arkansas City FFA

2. Riverton FFA

1. Chapman FFA